Hobbies and How I Choose to Dedicate My Free Time

There are a lot of not directly work-related things that are involved in starting a new job, and one of the biggest of those things is getting to know all your new coworkers. Earlier this week, I was out to lunch doing just that when someone asked “So what are your hobbies?”

“Uh…”

Hobbies are a strange thing. They’re supposed to be what you enjoy doing in your free time, but it seems like “wasting time on the internet” or “hanging out with my friends” – my most frequent uses of free time – aren’t really what people are looking for when it comes to answering that question. Furthermore, having only recently graduated college, my first thought about hobbies is that I haven’t had time for them in years! But then again, who does?

I ended up coming up with a few based on how I’d spent my time the last few months: “running, I suppose, maybe cooking, I’ve been doing a lot of research into general nutrition and exercise science, and I have two cats?” But are those really things that I’m passionate about? I certainly love my cats, but I don’t think they qualify as a hobby any more than my friends would. And while I do like cooking, I do it because I have to eat. Running might be the closest, but even that is iffy since I don’t really feel like a real “runner.”

When I think about things that I really love doing, that I would say I’m passionate about, I haven’t dedicated much time to any of them in recent years. I love learning languages, but I haven’t made any effort to do so since I quit Arabic my sophomore year of college. I really enjoy interior design (informally), but aside from decorating my apartment I haven’t done any of that either. I like organizing things and making them pretty, but I don’t go out of my way to find opportunities to do so outside of my day-to-day life.

Why is it that the things I enjoy doing are not the things I end up actually… doing?

To be honest, I don’t know the answer to that question. But I hope that, with all the free time I’ll have now that I no longer have to do homework, I’ll have some time to explore the things I already enjoy and discover some new passions as well.

Or maybe I’ll end up deciding that running and cooking really are my hobbies. Who knows.

One thought on “Hobbies and How I Choose to Dedicate My Free Time

  1. Hobbylager

    Ha.
    ‘What do you like to do for fun?’
    …*stunned silence*

    There is never a question more disheartening than than one :P. I hope you find something! Or make a concerted effort to explore the wonderful worlds of running and cooking 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

