Jump Right In

I have been officially employed for exactly nine working days. The first two days were orientation and I didn’t even make it into the office. Then I spent the next two days half in meetings and half with my manager, who had flown in to Charleston just for me. Then I took a day off to move into my apartment, and the day after that I was pretty much 100% booked in meetings. So in other words, today was really only the third day that I was able to actually do anything other than orientation or meeting coworkers.

And that’s what makes this all so exciting. This all being, specifically, that today I got to do something that actually added value for the first time! And I have lots more planned!

I’m in a bit of a unique position in that, despite working on an extremely experienced and incredibly skilled team, I’m the only one with my type of background, which happens to be pretty relevant to our job. So when I spent all of yesterday and most of this morning doing some online training in my field that my team had done a few months earlier, and I realized that the training was terrible, I had an idea. I asked two of my coworkers about their opinion on the course and when they agreed that it was bad, I decided to send an email to my manager asking if I could put together a presentation using one of my school projects to do a twenty minute, better, version of the training that I ended up spending about ten hours doing. And he thought it was a great idea!

So this afternoon I spent about an hour putting that together and sending it to him for review. Assuming I get approval, I’ll get to present it to my entire team at our staff meeting next week.

But that’s not all!

We’re also a relatively new team, so we’re still working on creating some of our processes. One thing that needs to be developed is essentially our output document – a template for our final deliverable in projects. Although I’ve never made something exactly like what we need, I have produced several similar things in my classes at school so yesterday I got approval from my lead to start working on a draft that I’ll hopefully be able to share next week.

Plus, the icing on the cake was that today I was involved in a meeting to develop another resource that my team needs, and since there were only three of us I actually got to have input and I contributed value to the work! It was so exciting. Best natural high I’ve felt in a while.

Anyway, lesson learned from this experience: don’t be afraid to volunteer to do things, even if you’re new, and especially if it’s your area of expertise. And hooray for being useful!

2 thoughts on “Jump Right In

  1. dianetitche

    You go girl! So glad you’re getting your feet wet with things that are meaningful and worthwhile. I’m so happy and excited for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

