Fake It ‘Till You Make It

There are a lot of things, body image-wise, that I’ve become more confident about since I started working out on a regular basis. It’s difficult for me to attribute most of those to an increase in confidence since they came from an actual improvement in how I look, however, there’s one thing that I’ve become more confident about that most certainly has not changed: my ponytail.

I used to hate putting my hair up. I’d do it when I had to (read: my hair was too greasy to leave down), but I was so self-conscious about it that it was literally distracting to me – for nearly the entire time I had it up. That was, I used to… until I started working out.

Anyone who has ever tried to exercise while also having long hair will know that you do not want to do it without pulling said hair up and out of your face. Trust me on this one, I have tried to do it in the past (due to aforementioned ponytail insecurity). And despite my best efforts to find another effective method – braids, pigtails, a low side pony – your standard ponytail is really the best way to go. So when I started going to the gym five days a week, that meant I also had to start putting my hair in a ponytail for at least a couple hours five days a week.

And for a while, I continued being really self-conscious about it. I’d occasionally try to get away with a sneaky side pony or pigtail arrangement, but would very quickly regret the sweaty hair sticking to my face and begrudgingly return to a normal ponytail the following day. I’d hope that no one else would be in the gym, and that I wouldn’t pass anyone on my walk there, and if I did I’d do my best to become invisible.

But lately I’ve noticed something: I’m not self-conscious about putting my hair up anymore. In fact, today after my run, I thought my ponytail was looking pretty good.

You’ve probably heard “fake it ’till you make it” before, but in the case of confidence, it’s really true. This particular example was pretty superficial, but you’d be surprised what you’re capable of if you just go and do it; there’s usually plenty of opportunity to actually figure it out along the way.

So next time you need a boost of confidence? Just fake it! The real deal will come in time.

Leave a Reply

