Healthy, Easy, and Delicious Chicken Avocado Melt

I originally intended to write a post about nutrition today, but then I made this amazing creation for dinner last night and it was so delicious that I felt it would be a crime against humanity not to share it, so here it is. Nutrition will have to wait until Friday.

This was honestly one of those most amazing things I have ever cooked. I ate everything you see in that picture above and as soon as I finished it I was both stuffed and disappointed that I couldn’t eat more. If I’d had another avocado I probably would have made more. AND it only took like twenty minutes to make, start to finish. PLUS for one of the chicken breasts you see in that picture it’s only about 300 calories. Amazing.

But enough talking. Here’s the recipe:

3 thin sliced chicken breasts
1 avocado
1/4 cup chopped white onion
6 grape tomatoes
3/4 cup shredded mexican cheese blend (or half cheddar, half monterey jack)
2 tsp lime juice
2 tsp cilantro (approximately, divided)
A pinch of salt

1) Put medium sized pan over medium heat (I just sprayed it with Pam to avoid calories, but you could use butter or oil as well). Also, turn oven on to broil.
2) While the pan is heating, place chicken breasts in a ziploc bag with lime juice and shake/tilt/whatever to marinate. I did this for 2-3 minutes.
3) Place chicken breasts in the pan and sprinkle half of the cilantro on top. Allow to cook for about two minutes, then flip and sprinkle remaining cilantro on the other side and cook for another two minutes. I flipped it back over and cooked on each side for an additional minute or so to make sure it was cooked, but that may or may not be necessary. Juices should run clear.
4) Remove chicken from pan and place on an ungreased cookie sheet.
5) In a small bowl, mash together avocado, onion, salt, and a splash of lime juice until it’s reached the consistency you want. I left mine chunky, but whatever you prefer is fine.
6) Cut grape tomatoes into quarters and fold them into the avocado mixture/guacamole.
7) Spread 1/3 of the guacamole on top of each chicken breast and then top with shredded cheese.
8) Place chicken in the oven to broil for 2-4 minutes, or until cheese is melted.

It look like a lot of steps, but it’s seriously easy and fast. I suggested using three chicken breasts because I had leftover guac, but I was happy to just eat that on its own because it was delicious. If you only want to make two pieces of chicken and then have leftover guac, use 1/2 cup cheese instead of 3/4, but leave all other proportions the same.

Ok, seriously. You should go make this RIGHT NOW. It was that good.

Chicken Avocado Melt 2

You’re welcome.

One thought on “Healthy, Easy, and Delicious Chicken Avocado Melt

  1. Pingback: Homemade Pesto (Chicken Caprese Sandwich) | Because Adult.

Leave a Reply

