When You Have Absolutely Nothing To Do

There’s one thing I’ve noticed about my coworkers: they have meetings. A lot of them. Like, spend almost their entire day in them a lot of meetings. While I also have some meetings, I don’t have anywhere near as many; I consider it a great day if I have three. And there’s always at least one day a week where I have none.

Aside from the fact that I enjoy meetings because they’re usually a good chance to learn something new and because they’re a great way to break up my day, there’s a pretty big consequence to my relatively empty schedule and that’s free time. A lot of it. Like 35 hours a week of it, compared to my average coworker’s *maybe* ten, but probably closer to seven.

While there are certainly some perks to the free time – I’ve been able to do a lot of research to catch myself up to everyone else, I have the time to actually get my work done because I’m not in meetings all day, I have the ability to stay on top of my email, etc. – there’s also a really huge downside. Namely, I spend the majority of my week having nothing to do.

And believe me, this is not from lack of effort. I’ve actually got several different projects that I’m working on or leading, but they all require other people so I can only do so much before I have to stop and wait for someone else. And because I have so much free time, I work fast. I can get things done in half a day that would take my coworkers a week, just because I have that entire half a day empty and they… don’t.

What I’m getting at is that I spend a LOT of time having absolutely no work I can do. I ask other coworkers if I can help them with anything, and I’ve done probably close to forty online training courses on various topics, and I’ve done a lot of background research to share with my team, and I’ve explored pretty much all of my company’s intranet, and… well, you get the point.

I really, really like my job. I look forward to the day when I get to spend the majority of my time actually doing it.

2 thoughts on “When You Have Absolutely Nothing To Do

  1. dianetitche

    Keep this post someplace where you’ll remember it, because someday you’ll be so busy with meetings that you’ll wish for all the time you have now!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Shifting Hours | Because Adult.

Leave a Reply

