Fat Experiments

This probably isn’t quite what it sounds like.

It’s a bit of a long story, but I’m going to tell the short version: I’m running a half marathon on Saturday and in preparation am nearly finished with a five day fat-loading period, during which 65% of my calories must come from fats. And I’m not talking just any random fats – it’s specifically healthy fats, which for me primarily means nuts, dairy, and avocados. Just as an FYI it also includes olives and olive oil, but I haven’t used them at all.

Getting 65% of your caloric intake from fat is somewhat challenging, and has required me to get a bit creative. Lunch and snacks have been easy because I just eat a bunch of cheese and nuts, but for dinner I look to add a bit more variety, and I do that with avocados and hummus (both high in healthy fats).

The problem is I can’t have much of anything that’s not high in fats, so it’s not like I can whip up a regular sandwich with avocado on it and call it good. Instead, I pretty much have to eat guacamole, straight (as in from a bowl with a spoon). Fortunately, I really like guacamole so this is not a problem for me. Even more fortunately, it’s given me a chance to experiment a bit!

The first night I did this I just wanted to eat lots and lots of cheese, so I went ahead and used my regular guac recipe (1 avocado, some chopped white onion, 5 quartered grape tomatoes, about a teaspoon of lime juice, and a pinch each of salt and garlic powder) but mixed in a serving of shredded cheddar cheese and a serving of shredded monterey jack (1/4 cup each), then put the whole thing in the microwave for two 30-second periods until the cheese was nice and melty. Cheesy guac was a very good thing.

The second night I decided to get even more experimental, and dressed up my regular guac with a serving of shredded monterey jack (unmelted this time as microwaves take away some of the flavor of avocados) as well as a serving of cashews (1 oz). I wasn’t really sure how adding nuts to guacamole would go, but fortunately it was actually quite good. I only had one issue with it, which I fixed tonight, and that’s that cheesy cashew guac is better left tomato-free. I know this sounds like a strange combination, but it was seriously pretty good.

Plus it’s about to get stranger.

At one point during this period I got the idea to check the label on my hummus and found out that it, too, is quite high in fats. Yay! The problem was just that normally I eat hummus on tortillas, which I can’t eat right now because they have too many carbs and not enough fat. I also considered veggies, but the same problem would arise if I ate them in any significant quantity. Not wanting to just eat a spoonful of hummus, I had another idea: peanuts.

Yes, seriously. Peanuts. I mixed a serving (1 oz) of dry roasted, unsalted peanuts into a serving of hummus (2 Tablespoons), ate it straight from a bowl with a spoon and nothing else, and it worked. It worked so well that I did it a second day with a serving and a half of peanuts because I wanted more peanuty goodness. It even worked so well that after I finish this race and no longer have to concern myself with fat or carboloading, I am going to find a way to make a peanut, hummus, and other things sandwich. And it’s going to be great. I’ll probably post it here.

So there you go. Now you have your strange food combinations for the day: cashews with guacamole and peanuts with hummus. I apologize that I didn’t think to take pictures.

UPDATE: Peanut hummus is even better if you mix the peanuts in the night before and let it sit overnight in the fridge, as this softens the peanuts a bit and allows the flavors to really “meld.” Additionally, I created homemade mac and cheese last night except I used peanuts instead of noodles, because fat, and that was pretty decent as well.

Leave a Reply

