Helping People

Ok, I know, a ton of people say they’re passionate about helping people. And that’s awesome, because frankly people need a lot of help, but I’m taking this in a slightly different direction. Actually, “Helping People” probably wasn’t the best title for this post, but if I change it now I’ll have to erase this entire paragraph and start over again, so I’m sticking with it.

What I really mean is – I think I’ve discovered that I really enjoy sharing my knowledge, which will hopefully then ultimately help people. Or put less abstractly, now that I’ve learned so much about nutrition/weight loss, experienced so much of my own success, and watched my sister go through a really phenomenal beginning to the same process, I really just want to teach everyone everything I’ve learned.

In retrospect, starting a blog with the intention to share much of what I’ve learned (among other things) probably should have been a good hint that that’s the case.

Earlier this week I wrote about how I’m doing a program to become a Certified Nutrition Coach, and sort of passively mentioned that I may or may not actually do something with that certification once I’d earned it. But now that I’ve been chewing on the possibilities for a week or so and really thinking about it, I am almost 100% convinced that I would really, really like to do some nutrition consulting in the evenings or on the weekends when I’m not at work, doing my day job, which I also happen to really enjoy (added to specify, in case anyone was concerned, that I have no intention of quitting said day job).

I’m not entirely clear on why I find this prospect so exciting. I imagine that helping people is at least a part of it, hence the original title of the post, but I feel like there’s a lot more to it than that. I could help people in a lot of ways, and to be honest there are probably several better ways. But I really want to do this one.

I think a part of it is that I’ve been sort of reflecting on my journey – I was looking through photos recently to try to find some decent “before and after” pictures, and I found one a couple pounds into my weight loss where I was wearing my very first pair of yoga pants for the very first time, because it was the first time I felt confident enough to wear them in public. That was months ago, and when I look back at the body confidence progress I’ve made even since then it seems incredible. I would love for other people to feel that same transformation.

There’s also the transformation in my relationship with food. Despite the fact that I have counted the calories of everything I’ve eaten or drank since early January, and despite the fact that I just finished a little over two months of eating on a very exact nutrition plan with strict guidelines for the amount of each food group I could consume each week, I feel like my relationship with food is the best it’s been  since… before middle school, even. I feel like *I* control my food, instead of letting my food control me. And sure, there are limitations – but know I know what those limitations are.

Before I started counting calories, although I loved it then too, food was the enemy because I always felt like I should be eating less or better or whatever. Now that I took out all that guesswork, I can eat guilt-free because I know exactly what I can and cannot have to stay healthy and maintain (or decrease) my weight. And that is awesome. In fact, I would even go so far as to say it’s one of the most empowering things I’ve ever experienced, and I think it’s a huge part of why I’ve now taken up such a strong interest in cooking and baking. Calorie counting may seem restrictive, but for me it’s been the exact opposite; it’s like looking a super delicious piece of cake in the face (yes, cakes have faces now) and shouting “YOU CAN’T CONTROL ME, CAKE. I OWN MY OWN CHOICES AND YOU CAN’T MAKE ME UNHAPPY ABOUT IT.”

Anyway, back to the original point. I want other people to feel as awesome as I do. I feel like our society has become so obsessed with weight loss and the information out there about how to do it is so confusing that it makes it nearly impossible for anyone to be happy with themselves and their choices. I obviously can’t fix society and save the world, but if I can help just a few people feel as badass as I do, that would be phenomenal.

Leave a Reply

