The Whatever-I-Had-Left-in-My-Fridge Cobb Salad

I’m going home for five days over Thanksgiving, and that means the last few days I’ve been trying to eat as much produce as possible so that it doesn’t all go bad while I’m gone. It also means I’ve had to go with some unconventional combinations as I’ve been trying to use up some ingredients while running out of others.

Today’s lunch was a great example of that, where I decided that I needed to make a salad to use up my kale, and then saw my hard boiled eggs and bacon and settled on a cobb salad. Except that I was missing a whole bunch of the things that cobb salads generally have, including dressing. So I got a little creative, pulled together a bunch of random things I had in my fridge that seemed appropriate, and then Googled cobb salad dressings and combined a few recipes to make my own. The good news is it was yummy, and only 343 calories! So now I share my unconventional cobb salad with you:

Whatever-I-Had-Left-in-My-Fridge Cobb Salad with Homemade Dressing

For the salad:
1.5 cups kale
3 oz grilled chicken breast strips (I buy mine frozen from Costco, but you could make your own)
1 hard boiled egg
2 slices bacon, cooked
1/4 cup sweet corn
1 oz reduced fat gorgonzola cheese crumbles (blue cheese would work also)
For the dressing:
1 tbsp plain nonfat greek yogurt
1/2 tbsp red wine vinegar
1 tsp dijon mustard
1 tsp lemon juice

1) Chop hard boiled egg and rip or cut bacon into pieces
2) Combine all salad ingredients in a smaller, medium bowl
3) In a very small bowl, stir together dressing ingredients
4) Pour dressing over salad and serve

Phew! Most complicated recipe ever, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

