Homemade Low-Fat, Low-Calorie Blue Cheese Dressing

I stumbled upon a salad recipe the other day that called for blue cheese dressing, but when I went to my Food Lion I couldn’t find any light options and all of the available choices were over 100 calories for two tablespoons, which is ridiculous and way more than I’m willing to use on a salad dressing.  So I decided to take matters into my own hands and made this super easy and super yummy dressing myself! Did you know that you can make your own salad dressing? Because I definitely did not. But you can, and I did!

Healthy Blue Cheese Dressing

¼ cup (1 oz.) reduced fat blue cheese crumbles
¼ cup nonfat plain greek yogurt
1 Tbsp white wine vinegar (or more, as needed)

1) Place blue cheese crumbles in a small bowl and crush them with the back of a spoon until the crumbles are very fine and the texture becomes a bit pastey
2) Stir in the greek yogurt until combined
3) Stir in the vinegar a little bit at a time until you get the desired consistency, making sure to stop and taste it every so often to make sure the vinegar flavor isn’t too strong (mine ended up a little thick because I didn’t want the vinegar to overpower the blue cheese)

And that’s it! All in all this probably took me about three minutes to make and the whole thing, which was enough to generously cover a pretty large salad, only had 115 calories (and no added sugar!). Estimating that I made about half a cup, which is four times your typical serving of salad dressing and more or less equal in calorie count, that’s pretty good.

Now go forth and blue cheese salad, guilt free!

Leave a Reply

