Healthy Edible Oatmeal Raisin Cookie Dough

This might be my favorite thing I’ve ever made.

For starters, while most desserts can never really be healthy but only healthier, I genuinely believe that this edible cookie dough can qualify as just plain healthy. It’s 100% whole grain with only one teaspoon of added sugar, and it has raisins, which can definitely count as a portion of a serving of fruit (I didn’t use enough to make up a whole serving).

But more importantly, there’s the edible cookie dough thing. Everyone I know eats cookie dough even though everyone knows you’re not supposed to. That said, I remember being unbelievably excited when I was a kid and I heard that they’d started selling edible cookie dough in grocery stores. Unfortunately, whoever made the product never considered the poor children like me who can’t (or won’t) eat chocolate, so the only flavors were chocolate chip and double chocolate chunk. What a disappointment. Therefore, this weekend I decided to take matters in my own hands and make edible cookie dough for myself.

Ok, so technically what actually happened was that I wanted a cookie and I’ve been on a raisin binge lately, but I didn’t want to wait for it to bake or have to make a whole batch, and this was my compromise. But still. It turned into something wonderful, and for the whole recipe (a decent sized serving – probably enough to make two cookies if they were at all bakeable, which they are not) has only 155 calories, with a mere 15 of those coming from added sugar. Victories all around!

Oatmeal Raisin Cookie Dough 1

Healthy Edible Oatmeal Raisin Cookie Dough

1/4 cup (20g) quick oats (from a canister, not a packet)
1 Tbsp (7.5g) whole wheat flour
1 tsp (4g) light brown sugar (packed)
a pinch of cinnamon
1 Tbsp whole milk
3 Tbsp (15g) raisins

1) Combine oats, flour, sugar, and cinnamon in a bowl and whisk or stir together with a fork
2) Pour in milk and stir until mixture reaches a cookie dough consistency (you can add more milk if needed to get the texture you’d like)
3) Fold in raisins

And then you’re done! Two minutes later and you’re enjoying a delicious portion of healthy, safe cookie dough.

A couple notes. I used whole milk because I didn’t use any butter so I wanted to make up some of the fat, for taste. Plus it was in such a small amount that it didn’t make a significant difference to the calorie count. You could use any type of milk you’d like (dairy or non-dairy), it just might not taste as good. You could also try using old-fashioned oats, rather than quick oats, but if that’s the case you will probably want to add extra milk because they won’t absorb the moisture as quickly.

Finally, do NOT try to bake this. It will turn out horribly because it has none of the things that make baked goods successful, ie. a binding agent (eggs) or a leavening agent (baking soda/powder). But eaten as is, it does make an awfully great snack.

Yum!

Leave a Reply

