I’m Getting Bigger… and I’m Happy About It!

I spend a lot of time on this blog talking about losing weight. And there’s a valid reason for that – I’ve put a lot of effort into losing weight, I feel great about the results, and it’s something that a lot of people are trying to do and/or struggling with.

But today I want to talk about something completely different. Today I want to talk about getting bigger, wider even, and why I am absolutely thrilled! Although no, it’s not about the size of my waist.

It’s about the size of my arms.

I’ve been pretty open about the fact that my arms are getting a lot stronger. Like that time I finally managed to do a pull up. Or that time I decided to just go ahead and literally post of picture of me flexing my bicep. But it’s one thing for me to say “I’m getting stronger!” or for me to look in the mirror and think to myself “dang, that bicep looks good.” It’s completely another thing for one of my coworkers to comment, unprompted, during a conversation about my going to aerial classes that my arms are looking much stronger (a thing that totally happened).

But that’s not even the best part. The BEST part happened earlier this week when, in trapeze class, the instructor told us that we were going to be doing upside down pull ups. That’s where you get on the trapeze in this shape:

and then proceed to bend your elbows to pull yourself up until your legs hit the bar. Naturally, my reaction to that was “LOL.” As in “LOL, I am definitely not capable of doing that.” But then something awesome happened. The girl who was standing next to me, who had a similar reaction, turned to me and said “look at those arms. You can definitely do that!” And you know what? I did! (And so did she.) And it was great. And I felt like super hero.

And then I proceeded to do another aerial class immediately after that one and three more today. Because I may have a problem. :-O

Leave a Reply

