On the Move

The company I work for does a competition every summer where employees can register, receive a free pedometer, and then track their “steps” to work toward earning a reward. The rewards are in progressions so the more steps you take, the larger the reward.

Naturally, I’m aiming for the biggest. Fortunately, you can convert non-step physical activity into steps so I’m getting lots of credit for the 5-10 hours a week of aerial I’ve been doing. Unfortunately, even when I do two aerial classes in one day (which I do at least twice a week), it’s not enough.

In order to be in the highest reward category I have to average 13,000 steps a day, which is about 6.5 miles if I were actually walking all of them. One aerial class is around 4500 steps (except yoga, which is closer to 2100). So, I’ve also needed to find ways to move a lot more.

It helps a lot that my office was relocated (again) to a place with a very large parking lot, where I’ve been parking allllll the way at the back and registering nearly 2,000 steps just to get from car to cube (and another 2,000 the other direction!). But I’ve also started taking regular walking breaks at work; my original intention was five minutes every hour, but that’s pretty unrealistic so I’ve settled on 5-10 minutes three times a day. My other major secret is drinking a BUNCH of water because then I end up having to pee, like, four times a day. And I think I get 200-300 steps each way to the bathroom.

I wear a Fitbit, so I actually have a comparison of what I’m doing now compared to what I was doing before; I’ve about tripled my average daily step count (not including aerial) and I feel so.much.better. It feels great to not be sitting on your butt for eight hours a day, and it’s equally great to know I’m burning a few hundred more calories by avoiding it.

Now I just have to make sure I keep these habits past when our competition at work ends! 🙂

Leave a Reply

