New Job

I started a new job last Friday.

I still work for the same company, in the same building and on the same floor, even under the same director, but it’s new and it’s a promotion and I also got a raise and I looooooooove it. A lot!

I spent a year and three months in my old job and I had times where I was worried about not being able to get everything done approximately twice ever. (I finished ahead of schedule both times.) The vast majority of the time I was horribly, horribly bored – sitting around with little or nothing to do.

I’ve been in my current job for exactly a week and I’m already so busy that I’m borderline overwhelmed. It’s amazing! I am so, so happy with it and I hope I stay this busy forever. It’s wonderful to feel like I’m actually contributing forty hours a week and earning my salary.

Most of the stuff I was doing in my old group is related to the things my new group does, so I’m already really familiar with most of their work and the transition has been very easy. And, since many of my current teammates only recently moved into the group, I actually know more about what we do than several of the other people I work with. That means I get to take on a lot of responsibility as they continue to learn the ropes; my manager is already hinting that she’s going to ask me to temporarily take on a major role at the beginning of the year next year as she’s anticipating a member of my group leaving and won’t be able to backfill his position immediately.

Plus, the team I moved into is so much fun. Although I really liked my previous teammates, I came from a group that was very geographically diverse and where 75% of the people where 60 years old or older. Many of them were voluntold into their current positions, don’t want to be there, and are only a few years away from retirement anyway. My new group is significantly younger on average, actually wants to be here, and has a large number of people located here in Charleston. The difference in the atmosphere is striking, and infectious.

In short, I absolutely love and adore my new job. Accepting the offer was one of the best things I could have done; I am so excited to see where this role takes me. And no matter where it is, I think I’m going to have a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

