Running Again

Today was a GORGEOUS day and my aerial teachers are out of town, stopping me from going to class at all this weekend, so I decided it was time to go for a run. I have run approximately twice since March, and the last time I tried – about two months ago – I only made it two miles, so I decided to set a stretch goal of three miles and see how it went.

I made it six!

Screenshot_2015-12-11-17-25-24

And look at that consistency! I’ve never been fast, and the pace was actually much higher than I thought it was going to be. So really I’m pleased all around.

I decided about halfway into the first mile that I felt really great and was going to aim for four miles rather than three, but then I hit three and I still felt really great so I decided to try for the fifth. And when I got to 4.5 and still felt alright, I figured I might as well just double my original goal and make it six.

The last mile was definitely a bit challenging, and the last half was rough, but I typically try to do my long runs so that they work out that way – nothing unusual there!

And the other really interesting thing was that I recently bought a Fitbit Charge HR, so I got to track my heart rate throughout the entire thing. Turns out it was high. Like, really high. Which I kinda suspected. But it’s very strange because my breathing was regular and not too urgent, and typically peak range heart rates mean you’re gasping for air. I felt much calmer than that – like it was a moderate effort.

Most importantly, though, I felt awesome. I felt awesome even in the first five minutes, before I knew how fast I was going or that I was going to be able to make it six miles. And I felt even more awesome at the end! I had forgotten how much I enjoy running, and I definitely want to start doing it more often again. I think once my semester ends (on Monday, so close!) I’ll probably try to sneak it in at least two or three times a week between all of my aerial classes.

What a great day. 🙂

One thought on “Running Again

Leave a Reply

