Cranberry Butternut Squash Nachos

OH MY GOODNESS. I had forgotten how much better food tastes when you use real ingredients and make it yourself. Seriously, I really need to start finding time to cook for myself more often.

The reason I haven’t posted any recipes in so long is because I haven’t really been cooking much at all – mostly eating microwave food and sandwiches, or using the occasional salad recipe I find on a blog somewhere. But last night I was really craving kale for some reason so I made myself Garlic Parmesan Kale Pasta, which was delicious. And I’ve made myself two really good salads for lunch today and yesterday, so since I’ve had such a good food week I felt obligated to cook dinner. Even though I didn’t get home until almost ten pm. But I am SO glad I did. Because this dish is worth it.

I know, I know. It sounds a little weird. But trust me. IT’S GOOD. Like, really good.

Cranberry Butternut Squash Nachos

1/2 tbsp olive oil
1/2 cup (75 g) cubed butternut squash
1/2 cup (40 g) shredded brussels sprouts
1/2 cup (55 g) fresh cranberries
salt, pepper, and garlic powder to taste
1 1/2 servings (42 g) Wheat Thins Great Plains Multigrain Toasted Chips (any multigrain chip would probably do)
1/4 cup (28 g) shredded monterey jack cheese
1/8 cup (14 g) reduced fat gorgonzola cheese crumbles

1) Preheat oven to 400º.
2) Heat olive oil in a pan over medium heat.
3) Add butternut squash, brussels sprouts, and cranberries to the pan. Stir occasionally, adding salt, pepper, and garlic powder to taste. (I used more pepper than salt, and a good amount of garlic powder because I love garlic.) Remove from heat when the cranberries have wilted and are soft.
4) Arrange the chips on a baking sheet. Spread the squash mix over the chips and top with the monterey jack cheese and then the gorgonzola.
5) Bake 5-7 minutes, or until cheese is melted. Enjoy!

With the ingredients I used this was only 480 calories, and very filling. Not to mention beautiful. I will definitely be making these again. 🙂

20160105_225300

 

Leave a Reply

