New Experiences

Five weeks ago I let one of my aerials friends talk me into trying a sample pole class. I expected that I would feel silly and embarrassed. I wasn’t excited about having to wear shorts. I was almost positive that I wouldn’t be willing to actually get into pole because once you get past the beginner levels it more or less requires that you expose most of your skin – otherwise you’ll slide right off.

I was right about one thing: I did feel a little bit uncomfortable in my shorts. But aside from that? I was wrong. So very, very wrong.

Pole class was FUN. Even though I struggled a bit with some of the dancing, and I still can’t figure out how to move quite right, I genuinely, 100% enjoyed it. Enough so that I convinced a friend to sign up with me for a five week session that started two days later.

“Just for one session,” I told myself. “We’ll see how I feel after that. I don’t know if I’m really committed.”

Ha. I should know myself better than that by now.

I’ve written before about faking it until you make it. About how I used to be uncomfortable in yoga pants, but now that I wear them every day I feel 100% confident wandering around any public place with them on. About how I used to hate running outside where people could see me, but now I run along major streets on a somewhat regular basis and don’t give the people driving by a second thought. Well pole class is another example.

Do I do all the moves perfectly every time? No. Have I 100% figured out how to shake my booty without looking silly? Nope. Do I look anywhere near as pulled together or coordinated as the teacher? Nuh uh. But you know what? I don’t care. I feel fabulous. When I was in class today, it didn’t matter to me if I looked silly or not. I just had fun. LOTS of fun. And next week I’ll be starting my second five week session as a level 2.

Plus I look damn good in my shorts. 🙂

20160214_143853-1-1

2 thoughts on “New Experiences

  1. Raveve

    I didn’t know you signed up for the next series! I’m glad you are enjoying it. I had really hoped I would, but I just didn’t. I would love to be able to do the awesome strength related moves, but I just don’t know if I could get past all the other stuff to get there.

    Reply
    1. Because Adult Post author

      I’ll admit I still feel silly doing a lot of the dance moves, but every time I see someone doing some amazing pole thing on Instagram it just makes me even more motivated to get through the earlier levels. My brain struggled with a lot of the things in the first week of level 2, but I’m hoping Desiree can help me work some of them out. And I think they actually structure the classes so that you cover the entire level in every session!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

