Creamy Cacio e Pepe

Late last night I suddenly realized that I was not prepared to make lunch for myself. I hadn’t been grocery shopping so I didn’t have any lettuce (typically I make salads), and I didn’t want to have to spend a bunch of time cooking something up that would prevent me from getting to bed at a reasonable time.

Then I remembered this. Cacio e Pepe, literally “cheese and pepper.” It was a recipe I had seen a bunch of times in emails I receive from Bon Appetit, and I was pretty sure it would be easy. Granted, I’d never actually LOOKED at the recipe. But I figured I could guess and that would be close enough. And so that’s what I did!

The end result was surprisingly delicious for a bunch of random things that I threw together at the last minute, and it was satisfactorily easy to get me into bed on time. Perfect!

Improvised Creamy Cacio e Pepe

3 oz whole wheat spaghetti
1 tbsp (14g) fat free plain greek yogurt
2 tbsp (14g) part-skim ricotta
1 tbsp (7g) parmesan (I grate mine fresh)
a pinch of salt
pepper to taste

1) Fully cook spaghetti and drain, reserving a little bit of pasta water
2) Stir geek yogurt and ricotta in to the spaghetti, adding reserved pasta water as necessary to avoid sticking (but don’t make it watery)
3) Add parmesan, salt, and pepper and stir until combined

That’s it! Once the pasta is cooked you’re done in about two minutes. And the whole thing turned out to be only 333 calories, with a decent amount of protein. Yum. 🙂

20160306_220743.jpg

Leave a Reply

